Tuesday, March 16, 2010

55th Annual Filmfare Awards!!

55th Filmfare Awards
The Filmfare awards is always one of the most awaited award functions in Bollywwod. The perfect time to show of the best of creations and attitude on the red carpet, which gives us a feeling of Oscars, desi isthyle. With the same spirit, the 55th annual Filmfare awards started with the best of the industry being greeted by Swapnil Joshi and a midget asking the stars all kinds of cute questions.
SRK – SAK Jodi made their grand comeback as the hosts and the ghosts of their humour was heavy in the air. Keeping in tune with the current developments, the event started off with a mock scan of SRK which could happen in “Immigration” and the results of which cannot be shared here (LOL)
The first award was for the Lifetime Achievement Award, given to Shashi Kapoor, rightly presented to him by Shabana Azmi and Yash Chopra – from 2 icons to another. Following this, was the hilarious session by the Khan twosome…picking up right where they left it couple of years back. This time around they made themselves the butt of the jokes. Talented I must say!!
Then came the first set of technical awards:
§ Visual effects- Kaminey
§ Sound design – Firaaq
§ Prod design and art direction - Dev D
§ Editing – Firaaq
§ Choreographer – Chor bazaari– bosco caeser – Love Aaj Kal
This was followed by a very insipid performance by Deepika Padukone with the tracks “Uff Teri Adaa” and “Twist” – she had more energy in the movie picturization than on stage. And the stage got taken over by K Jo and Sidharth (the guy from RDB) for the next set of technical awards, giving the rib-ticklers a break.
§ Action – Wanted
§ Cinematographer – Dev D
§ Costume design – Firaaq
§ Background score – Dev D
This was followed by a performance by Riteish Deshmukh and Jacquline Fernandez (who she is – the one who debuted in Alladin…whetever) to introduce their “out of this world” movie, which I’m sure will live up to its name.. Saif ka saamna happens and is equally controversial :
o Hrithik – How high does your kite fly? - As much as kurbaan did/ billu barber
o Neil – Where is the surname? – Ridiculous question acc to Neil, and he was insulted (scripted or not – can’t tell yet) and then there is pin-drop silence
o Madhavan - Want to learn Tamil from him – Translate dialogue from Love Aaj Kal
o Vidya Balan – What are her first words when she sees Saif? - sodium sulfate and she would choose death even if these 2 are the last men on earth
And then Bollywood saluted Sachin Tendulkar for the awesome 200*….then back to awards, starting with popular ones in Music
§ R D Burman award for upcoming talent in music –Amit Trivedi
§ Playback singer – Female – Kavitha Seth for Iktara – Wake up Sid & Rekha Bharadwaj – Genda Phool – Delhi 6
§ Playback singer – Male- Mohit Chauhan – Masakali – Delhi 6
And then a silly lyric writing session by taking random words like Baingan – bistar – twitter – hurrrrrrrrrrr – peth – with a c-minor key chord
Mere dil ka baingan – duniya ka bistar…..
§ Lyrics – Aaj Din Chadaiyaan – Love Aaj Kal – Irshad Kamil
§ Music – A R Rahman – Delhi 6
Though Pritam had 2 nominations, Shankar-Ehsaan Loy , Vishal Bharadwaj, who can possibly compete with a legend like A R Rahman – and his 25th award, very humbly put. What a man!!
And a performance by Katrina Kaif to some peppy numbers like Main tera dhadkan, Tera hone lagaa hoon, Yaaron jee bhar ke jee le pal….
And we had the gorgeous Shruti Hassan and Sidharth hosting a part of the show for the next set of awards
§ Story – Abhijat Joshi , Raju Hirani – 3 idiots
§ Screenplay – Abhijat Joshi, Raju Hirani and VVC – 3 idiots
§ Dialogue - Abhijat Joshi, Raju Hirani – 3 idiots
A solemn moment to remember all those who left the film fraternity and made their loss felt: Shakti Samanta, Feroz Khan,Prakash Mehra,Gulshan Bawra(yaari hai imaan), Simple Kapadia,Joginder,Leela Naidu(one of the 10 most beautiful women by Vogue),Sujit Kumar, Tahir Hussain,Nirmal Pandey & ……Michael Jackson.
Shahid Kapur pays tribute to MJ in a befitting manner

And awards for :
§ Debut – Female – Zoya Akhtar – Luck by Chance
§ Debut – Male – Ayan Mukherji – Wake up Sid
§ Supporting role – Female – Kalki Koechlin – Dev D
§ Supporting role – Male – Boman Irani – 3 idiots
And a new product was launched: Bipasha’s fitness video and it gets promoted thru a jumping jack with Ramesh Taurani,SRK, SAK (these two can make anyone dance to their tunes)
After a spoof by Saif on his sweetheart Kareena, an act by Kareena on Zoobi doobi
§ 2nd lifetime achievement award – Khayyam
§ Critics award
o Film –Firaaq
o Actress – Mahie Gill – Dev D
o Actor – Ranbir Kapoor – Wake up Sid
§ IPL – idiotic performances auction
o Kaminey – horse - to Salman – looks good always without a shirt
o Paa- Auro’s uniform – to Katrina – for learning Hindi in a Hindi medium school
o Wake up Sid – socks – Sherlyn Chopra – to match her swimsuit
o 3 idiots’ bums – (Aamir doesn’t turn up for award functions nor does he send his body parts also) – John Abraham – to be used for sequels of Dostana

§ Salman’s performance – Ek baar jo maine commitment kar di to main apne aap ki bhi main nahin sunta nahi – with his superman tee, was like having the best and longest performance for the last but again, the zing was just not there.
o Tune from HAHK (pehla pehla pyaar)
o Kabootar ja ja ja
o Jhoothe le lo
o Oonchi hai building
o Jeene ka hain char din
o Yeh raat aur yeh doori
o You’re my love
o Love me love me
o Maria maria
o Jalwa
o Barso yaaron barso
o Hanuman ki jai

§ Leading role – Female –Vidya Balan – Paa
§ Leading role – Male – AB – Paa
§ Best director – Raju Hirani – 3 Idiots
§ Best movie – 3 Idiots

Somehow humour is not so obvious and is coming at very long intervals…not like it used to be. And SRK & SAK have begun to border on the outrageous when it comes to humour. We need a change in anchors for the next edition.
3 Idiots, one of the biggest hits of all times walked away with most of the popular awards with some competition from Dev D so much like the David Goliath story but Firaaq was a surprise. Should watch the movie to find out what it is about. This year also marked a change in handing out awards for best debut...it was to diretcors rather than actors...could be cos there was no impactful acting performance by actors..

Looking forward to a better Filmfare awards nite next year!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment